North and South Poles

A great thing about Olney is its diversity.

There are many different kinds of people going to school here, working here, passing through or living here 24/7. The eateries reflect that: you can get soul food from a food cart, cuisine from Asia or from Jamaica. There are almost no limits.

Yet, when I went to the “Shoppes at LaSalle” mall, I noticed an interesting contrast. Fresh Grocer is at one side of the mall, and Dunkin Donuts is at the other.

This immediately brought to my mind the common misconception about healthy living: I either have to shop at a place like “Fresh Grocer” or I have to “run on Dunkin”. But, as there are a numerous places to eat in Olney, so are there numerous shades and degrees of healthy or unhealthy food.

There’s no reason to tie yourself to trendy “health food stores”, or spend all your time at a fast food place. There are plenty of options: you just have to look.

3 thoughts on “North and South Poles

  1. Your blog is very organized and I like the sidebars and search boxes you provide. Its a very clean and approachable look. I also like your writing and how you mention the contrast between Fresh Grocer and Dunkin Donuts and how it reflects the current state of nutrition in America. Good observation. I think maybe your pictures could be a little larger on the post itself, but at the same time I really like the slideshow set up!

  2. I really like the name of your blog, “Olney Eats.” It’s really clever, and so is your post “North and South Poles.” You really engage the reader with a witty title. The content of your post is also very strong. You tell a great story and make some really interesting observations.

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

